Day 4 – The DL Experience

We got a late start today because someone has trouble getting out of bed! But, once we were up and fueled. We headed out to Marion again to get ready for our climb for the day.

D told me this climb would be just as hard as our first climb on 80 and then there would be 2 of them!

We made our way to the climb on 226. I lost my chain twice on the way there which did not help my confidence going into the climb but D and I made a pact that there would be no negative thoughts on this ride and the only way we would be going is up!

Once the climb started I knew it was going to be a great day. My legs felt strong, my mind was in total zen mode plus riding along with D always puts a smile on my face.

Screen Shot 2013-04-04 at 9.00.40 PM

Once to the top, we made our way on to the Blue Ridge Parkway. I had always heard stories about how pretty the Parkway was but it is something you have to see.

image_3

We made it all the way to D’s hometown of Spruce Pine but the weather did not look good and it was getting colder so we decided to turn around and make our way back home.

image_4

Once back from our ride we stopped for some food then it was off to the pool to “swim” which really meant float for about an hour to give our legs a chance to loosen back up.

After our swim we called it a day and got ready to head to Asheville to find some trails to run on.

Leave a Reply

