2013 in Review

I thought I would highlight some of 2013 since it is coming to a close in a couple of days.

The DL Experience – Spring Break to Lake Lure and Asheville NC

This was the first big trip for Duran and I and one that would include a lot of riding! We had plans to use it as a mini training camp before the season starts but as it turned out with weather and all it was more of a biking trip than an all around triathlon training week. It turned out great and I gained a lot of fitness and confidence before the season started!

photo

The Boston Marathon

61523_505459882835355_741987478_n

Boston was not an ‘A’ race on my schedule but it was Boston so I obviously wanted to do well. I only did one 16 and 18 mile run as my “long” runs before and had just come off a huge bike week in the mountains before the race.

I raced well and performed with the fitness that I had. But, Boston will not be remembered for my race time there or how well I ran. It has a much deeper meaning and will be a day I will never forget.

Climbing Mount Mitchell

Mitchell 1

Duran and I headed back to Asheville for one main purpose. Climb Mount Mitchell. I did not write a blog about the climb but it was the weekend before Raleigh 70.3 and we started off on the Parkway in Asheville and it was basically a 3+ hour all uphill ride until you reach the top of Mitchell and then about an hour ride all downhill ride home.

mountains 1

This was another one of those confidence boosting rides and mentally challenging rides to do but felt great once back home – the worst part was probably descending Mitchell – I really need to get better at going down.

Top of Mitchell

Ironman Raleigh 70.3

954842_524018527646157_949213092_n

This was only second half and my first ironman race I had ever done. I had a feeling I could be in the hunt – but wasn’t quite sure how the day would play out. Much to my surprise I had a very good race and qualified for the 70.3 Worlds in Vegas by coming in 2nd in my age group which I proceeded to pay for that day and ended up not making it out to race because of the cost of the trip.

Ironman Lake Placid

031

Placid was my first full Ironman and although it did not go quite as planned, I still had an amazing time and a fairly decent race.

bike check-in

Beach to Battleship

My first overall female win! I raced a lot in the Fall and was coming up short to some speedy girls for 1st place but finally managed to pull off a win in Wilmington with a PR half marathon.

photo 1

Ironman Cozumel

1460010_10151891917488702_768675684_n

Cozumel was going perfect until it wasn’t. I learned a lot from this race and know what I need to dial in and focus on for 2014 if I am going to make it to the next level and get to Kona like I want to.

Those are my triathlon highlights for 2013 and I am sure there are to be plenty more in the next year. Just for fun – one of my favorite pictures of us after Placid.

after

One thought on “2013 in Review

Leave a Reply

