February Comes to an End

February has come to a close and we are going into March full steam ahead.

While at the pool the other day one of the employees at the main desk asked Duran and I what we had on tap for the rest of the day. Duran replied, “Just a 4-hour bike ride”.  The women replied in a way that most do, “wow, that’s a long time!” With a quick smile at each other the conversation continues the way most do with people who aren’t sure about what an Ironman entails. She then asked the questions…how far, how long, are you competing or just finishing etc. We answer and nod and just say we love it and continue on our way.

Once again, February brought higher consecutive weekly hours and a lot of work was completed on the bike, swim and run. So why the story above, it sparked a question inside of me that I wish I had asked when she said why do we do Ironman’s?

My first answer or I guess question…what else would we be doing on a Saturday? I really have no idea what a day without a morning swim, afternoon bike and the added long run in there would be like. The second answer or once again questions would be…what makes you feel alive and what challenges you every day?

Triathlon does that for me. Some people want to do the train less plan or may not want to put in the hours but I’m not one of them. Triathlon is a lifestyle and it challenges me everyday but the motivation rarely leaves to train day in and day out. Why? It’s because of the feeling after a 2 hour trail morning run followed by an afternoon 50 minute treadmill run that leaves you smiling all night. It’s the bike interval set you nail and know if I keep waking up and riding my bike more and more I can hit an even better interval the next time.

So, no February totals because everyone has the number and mine is what works for me.

My question is what motivates you? What drives you to feel truly alive? For me it’s training and racing triathlons…yes both of them. I always use to tell my student’s…I don’t care what you are passionate about but BE PASSIONATE ABOUT SOMETHING and put your whole heart into it!

Happy training friends!

One thought on “February Comes to an End

  1. Pingback: The Past 2+ Months | LGRacing

Leave a Reply

