The Past 2+ Months

I have always been an early riser. It was engrained in me by my parents – when your alarm went off you got up or you would miss your time slot to shower or be left at home. I am much more energized and productive in the morning hours basically from 5 AM – 11 AM. If you asked me to do anything at 9pm that takes a lot of mental capacity – you are SOL….I’m done by that point, which is probably why I never pulled an all-nighter in college.

I have said it many times already but since being a part of Team HPB, I have been doing a lot of training. I wouldn’t say anything has been crazy…yet but we are putting in the some good weekly hours. Along the way I have learned a few things about myself and my body…

1. My body and mind handle volume well. Of course the aches and soreness are there but nothing to hinder my training. I’ve been averaging about 23 hours a week so far, split up to about 270 miles on the bike, 30-35 miles running, 20,000 yards in the pool.  As some people may say…more is more…

image_3

2. Sleep is good! If I have a morning swim on a Saturday, I do not need to get up at 5 AM if the pool doesn’t open until 7. The funny part is once I gave myself the ability to “sleep in” I think my body was happy to be able to sleep past that 7 AM mark.

3. Easy sessions are in your plan for a reason. When I trained for my first marathon (picture from that race below) I always ran at race pace. Why would I train slower if I wanted to go faster? I have started to learn those days are in your plan for a reason. Go easy on your easy sessions so you can go harder on your hard sessions.

459788_3417214829492_481819510_o

4. I still need to learn to say no. This was one of my goals for 2014. I knew if I wanted to accomplish the goals I set for myself I would need to sacrifice things and focus on myself and training. These past months have been a build for me and I know the more intense the training gets the more important I will need to prioritize.

5. I need to do a better job figuring out my nutritional needs during training and outside of training for how to best fuel myself. It is always a work in progress for me but one day at a time. The smoothies are starting to reappear a lot more these days and I am loving it, especially green ones!

image_2

6.  Duran still and will always be my biggest supporter, but will also put me in my place  when I may be being a bit irrational.  He’s not the type to hold my hand through anything – he will always let me figure it out first and as much as sometimes I want to be a girl and say why won’t you just ride with me – he is doing it for a reason. For one, he has goals with his own training which means he is going to be ahead of me sometimes on a ride and I need to learn things on my own! Just an example, my first time ever riding a cross bike was in Umstead last year on someone else’s bike in the pitch black with just lights on our helmets with no instructions. He could have said…oh by the way it could get a bit technical and there are some pretty steep inclines that you may just fall over on your bike because your back wheel will keep spinning. Result – he rode way ahead of me to where I couldn’t see him anymore and I ate shit on one of the hills but looking back I wouldn’t want it any other way.

image

5. I need to start investing in more cycling and running clothes…2 pairs of cycling shorts and basically two pairs of running shorts is causing a lot of laundry.

6. There is still a lot of work to be done!

That’s all I’ve got for today! Oh except…I will be racing a half in Florida next weekend! Team DL ready for 2014!

PS Check out a great write-up on Team HPB Camp that went on in Tucson a few weeks ago…I couldn’t make it this year but will be participating next year!

Leave a Reply

